What I’ve been reading

Since posting about posting I haven’t really felt much like posting.  While I figure out what that’s about, why not check out some things I’ve enjoyed reading?

  • Rough Boys on the Playground. “Finally, the other little girl with us stepped between Serena and the boy. She stopped him with her body and said in a loud, firm voice, “She asked you to stop. Please leave her alone.””
  • Because Boundaries Are A Bad Idea. “Don’t tell me that toddlers need boundaries. Boundaries are a bad metaphor, especially where young toddlers are concerned, because most things counted as boundaries would be better conceived as positive expectations.”
  • Ancestor Work. “I feel deeply connected with mothers everywhere. A million stand behind me, having birthed and raised their babies before I had my own.”
  • Mangala Gouri Puja, or how to practice as a feminist.   “Even with daycare and formula and more technology freeing up the physical labor needed to sustain life and a household, women remain the only ones who can bear children. Let me tell you, that is hard work! So all of that is to say that I fully understand that men have more freedom to explore their spiritual path than do most women.”

What have you read recently that made you stop and think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’ve been reading

Leave a Reply

